As of July 7, 2020: All branches are open for contactless Library Takeout and library returns during limited hours of operation. OPL Express locations remain closed. Details

Battle of the Books

Criteria for Award Winners

Award Winning:
Award winning titles are books which have won awards; not books that have been finalized, short-listed, or nominated (unless otherwise stated below). Titles in this category are those that have been published in the previous 10 years.

Questions will be asked on books from these awards listed below:

The John Newberry Medal (includes both winners & honours titles)
The Randolph Caldecott Medal (includes both winners & honours titles)
The (Theodor Seuss) Giesel Award
The Children’s & Teen Choice Book Awards (only winners, NOT finalists)
National Book Award – Young People’s Literature (only winners, NOT finalists)
The Scott O’Dell Awards
TD Canadian Children’s Literature Award
Forest of Reading Awards (only past winners)
Includes: Blue Spruce, Silver Birch & Silver Birch Express (including non-fiction titles); and Red Maple
Does NOT include: White Pine, Le Prix Peuplier, Le Prix Tamarac or Le Prix Tamarac Express

Please check out our library website to find a list of awards