Effective February 17, 2021: All branches are open for adjusted services and continue to offer Library Takeout and contactless pickups. Some OPL Express locations open. Learn More

Battle of the Books

This spring, Battle of the Books will take place from March 30, 2020 to May 13, 2020. Please see Important Dates for more information.

Author List - Junior


Questions will also be asked about award winning titles that were published between 2010-2019 (see below for list of awards that will be included), fairy & folktales, current award nominees from the Forest of Reading awards and characters from classic and popular books.

  • The John Newberry Medal (includes both winners & honours titles)
  • The Randolph Caledecott Medal(includes both winners & honours titles)
  • The (Theodor Seuss) Giesel Award
  • The Children’s & Teen Choice Book Awards (only winners, NOT finalists)
  • The Scott O’Dell Awards
  • TD Canadian Children’s Literature Award
  • Will Eisner Awards Best Publication for Kids 9-12 (Graphic Novel)
  • Forest of Reading Awards (only past winners can be used; current nominees can be asked in other categories such as “Canadian”)
 Includes: Blue Spruce, Silver Birch & Silver Birch Express (including non-fiction titles)
 Does NOT include: White Pine, Le Prix Peuplier, Le Prix Tamarac or Le Prix Tamarac Express